Florida motorists, he said, are required to roll down the window and hand their driver's license to law enforcement.
You have to legally roll down the window enough for communication with the officer. Otherwise, the cop may view you as a threat to safety if you do not permit the officer to...
You have the right to remain silent and cannot be punished for refusing to answer questions. If you want to remain silent, tell the officer out loud. But note that you are expected to identify yourself to Florida law enforcement officers when you are stopped on suspicion of a crime or a traffic violation.
You Must Exit the Vehicle if Requested
If a police officer requests that you exit the vehicle, you must comply. A traffic stop is the same as being detained by a police officer. You cannot leave until you are allowed to do so. The officer may believe he has probable cause for searching you or your vehicle.
There's no law that forces you to roll the window all the way down.
As it turns out, the real reason these windows don't roll down all the way is because of automotive door design; the windows rolled down as far as they could before reaching the top of the wheel arch, and then they had to stop, because they simply had nowhere to go.
Stop the car in a safe place as quickly as possible. Turn off the car, turn on the internal light, open the window part way, and place your hands on the wheel. If you're in the passenger seat, put your hands on the dashboard. Upon request, show police your driver's license, registration, and proof of insurance.
A passenger is not required to give identification in response to that request. However, refusal to provide identification may allow the officer to expand the stop in order to determine whether that passenger or passengers poses a danger to their safety during the traffic stop.
If you're in a vehicle
A police officer can legally stop any vehicle at any time and ask to see driving documents, check the condition of the vehicle or deal with driving offences.
Answer provided by
A police officer may use a picture of your driver's license as a way to run the license number to see if it is valid, but this is not common. A driver is required to keep an active license with them any time they are driving a car.
The First Amendment to the Constitution protects your right to monitor and gather information on public officials. This applies to the police. In Florida, for the most part, if you are in an open public space where other people can witness what is happening, you can record the police. State law defines this right.
Someone can be held in jail for 33 days without being charged, according to Rule 3.134 of the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure. It is important to note that the state actually only has 30 days to charge an arrestee with a crime. If it has not filed charges by that date, it must release the arrestee by the 33rd day.
You have the constitutional right to remain silent. In general, you do not have to talk to law enforcement officers (or anyone else), even if you do not feel free to walk away from the officer, you are arrested, or you are in jail. You cannot be punished for refusing to answer a question.
5. You DO NOT have to give your name and address unless the officer points out an offence he / she suspects you have committed. However, not providing your details may lead to you being detained for longer.
You DON'T have to answer the police officer's questions, but you MUST show your driver's license and registration (and in some states proof of insurance) when stopped in a car or motorcycle. In other situations you can't legally be arrested for refusing to identify yourself to a police officer.
Undercover Police in California
Generally speaking, police officers have no legal obligation to identify themselves or the agencies they are affiliated with, even if you ask them directly.
“Leaving a thumbprint on the brake light is an old-school way to tag a car with a fingerprint, so it can be identified conclusively as the vehicle involved in a stop should the officer become incapacitated,” explains Hoelscher.
“Touching the rear of the vehicle puts the officer's fingerprints on that car, showing that he or she was there with it,” Trooper Steve said. “In case the driver decided to flee the scene, or if something happened to that officer, it ties both the vehicle and the officer together.
A tap or touch on your tail light during a stop isn't a superstitious practice for the cop, rather it's an action that is thought to help protect the cop's well-being. Tapping or touching the tail light is mainly done to leave a thumbprint on the glass.
You have a constitutional right to not answer them, or give your name, unless the officer has an reasonable suspicion that you are involved in a crime. At the conclusion of this temporary detention the officer must either arrest you or let you go.
Generally, the standard time the police can hold you for is 24 hours until they will need to charge you with a criminal offence or release you. In exceptional circumstances, they can apply to hold you for longer, up to 36 or 96 hours. This is usually if you are suspected of more serious crimes such a murder.
You just show up and surrender and then the clerk of court will be notified and they will set a court date. That can take 2 days to 3 weeks.
“Do you know why I pulled you over?” Officers know why they pulled you over and are not asking that question hoping that you will remind them. Officers have been trained to ask that question in the hopes that motorists will make statements admitting guilt or fault.
Penalties: Unlimited fine. Community order or up to 6 months' imprisonment can be imposed. 3 – 9 penalty points or disqualification from driving.