What are the drinking laws in Hawaii?

Asked by: Vivian Lynch  |  Last update: October 22, 2022
Score: 4.2/5 (70 votes)

Hawaii has minor in possession (MIP) laws to prevent underage drinking. You must be at least 21 years to consume or possess alcohol in Hawaii. However, people who are age 18 are allowed to serve alcoholic beverages in a licensed establishment.

Can you walk around with alcohol in Hawaii?

Unfortunately, it is not allowed. According to the law, it is illegal to have an open container of alcohol in your car or in public places, like beaches, parks or street sides.

Can you drink under 21 with a parent in Hawaii?

Underage Drinking: Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S): parent/guardian.

How strict are drinking laws in Hawaii?

Not overly strict and not excessively lenient, the state of Hawaii's drinking age is typical; 21. You can purchase beer, wine, and liquor at almost any convenience, ABC, or grocery store, but make sure to make your purchases before 11:00pm, because most places stop selling after this witching hour.

Can a 17 year old drink in Hawaii?

So, like all other states in the union, the minimum age to purchase alcohol in Hawaii is 21. Hawaii, like other states on the mainland, is a zero tolerance state.

Weird Laws: Hawai'i

29 related questions found

Can a minor sit at a bar in Hawaii?

Bars are for adults, not kids. Adults need a place where they can have an oasis among other adults doing adult activities. There are many restaurants that serve alcohol that you can go to with your kids if you must have a drink.

What states is the drinking age 18?

Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and Washington, D.C.: The legal drinking age is 18 for beer and wine, and 21 for liquor. Kansas, Ohio, Oklahoma, and South Dakota: The legal drinking age is 18 for 3.2% ABV beer, and 21 for beer stronger than 3.2% ABV, wine, and liquor.

Can you legally drink at 18 in Hawaii?

Hawaii has minor in possession (MIP) laws to prevent underage drinking. You must be at least 21 years to consume or possess alcohol in Hawaii. However, people who are age 18 are allowed to serve alcoholic beverages in a licensed establishment.

Can I drink beer on Waikiki Beach?

(1) DRINKING ALCOHOL ON WAIKIKI BEACH IS ILLEGAL – Everyone knows you can't set-up a cooler on Waikiki Beach and start drinking. Not only is it blatantly illegal, it irresponsibly gives the mistaken impression that this type of behavior is tolerated by the local community.

Is Hawaii a dry state?

Dry funding states include Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon and Washington. All other states are “wet funding.”

What is the lowest drinking age in the world?

In fact, 64 percent of the world's nations have legal drinking ages of 18. The youngest legal drinking age in the world is 15, with both Mali and the Central African Republic allowing folks to drink at that time.

What country has a drinking age of 13?

Around the world, the age when it's legal to purchase or be served most alcohol products varies from 13 in Burkina Faso to 25 in Eritrea.

Can a 15 year old date a 18 year old in Hawaii?

The age of consent in Hawai'i is 16 years old. At this age a person may legally consent to sexual activity with another person who has also reached the age of consent. Hawai'i law has an age gap provision that intends to avoid penalizing sexual activity among certain teens.

Can passengers drink alcohol in a car in Hawaii?

Hawaii law prohibits any person from consuming or possessing an open container of alcohol in a vehicle. A container is considered open if the seal has been broken or some of the contents have been removed. This restriction applies to all persons within the car, including the driver and passengers.

Can you drink in public Waikiki?

And mrsfuzz is correct, in Hawaii it is illegal to consume alcohol or carry an open container on the beach or anywhere in public. Waikiki has a pretty good police presence, mainly to keep the area safe, and they will enforce this law. Your best bet will be to grab a drink at Duke's in the Outrigger.

Can passengers drink Hawaii?

It is illegal for passengers and drivers to consume alcohol in a vehicle. Although, as an aside: Alcohol is served to passengers on cruise boats. Another law that may surprise you: Alcohol is not legal on beaches. Beachside bars require their customers to keep drinks within the bar area.

How much are drinks in Hawaii?

Beer, mixed drinks or specialty drinks: $4 to $9 (each drink) Gasoline: $4.25 to $4.85 per gallon – and likely more on certain Islands. Taxi: average $3 base charge, plus 45 cents per 1/8 mile. Lu'au: $65 to $110 (adult); children can generally attend for $40 or less.

Can I drink on the beach in Maui?

Is it illegal to drink on the beach? It is illegal to drink alcohol on or near the beaches and parks of Maui.

What age is considered a minor in Hawaii?

Hawaii, like most states, sets the age of majority at 18, so the laws discussed below only apply when a child is under the age of 18.

What happens if you get caught drinking under 21 in Hawaii?

The penalties for an under 21 DUI offense may include:

Driver's license suspension for 180 days. Up to 36 hours of community service work. Fines ranging between $150 and $500.

How old do you have to be to go clubbing in Hawaii?

Drinking isn't necessarily the key to a fun evening out. Those under 21 can still dance the night away at one of Hawaii's lively nightclubs, most of which are located in and around Honolulu, on Oahu.

What is the drinking age in Japan?

In Japan, the legal adult age is 20. Japanese law prohibits individuals under the age of 20 to drink alcohol or smoke. Regardless of age, you must not force anyone to drink or smoke as it may cause serious health and social consequences.

Can a 14 year old drink alcohol at home?

In England, Scotland and Wales, it's not illegal for someone between the ages of five and 17 to drink alcohol at home or on other private premises. But this does not mean it is recommended. The best advice for young people's health and wellbeing is an alcohol-free childhood.

What is the legal age to smoke in Japan?

Since 1876, the smoking age in Japan has been 20. Although the age of majority was lowered from 20 to 18 in 2022, the smoking age will remain at 20.