What is Type P in passport?

Asked by: Malvina O'Kon  |  Last update: September 20, 2022
Score: 4.7/5 (57 votes)

P-type passports are “Personal passports.” These are the same blue passports that are issued to ordinary citizens for personal purposes like business trips, vacations, or traveling and studying abroad.

What are the 3 types of passports?

Passport Types

Regular passport (of maroon color) Special passport (green) Diplomatic passport (black) Service passport (grey)

What does type mean on passport?

At the top of the page along with your photo, right under the heading that reads “United States of America,” you'll see “Type” and under that, “P.” That doesn't indicate a specific type of passport; it simply indicates the type of document. It's document type “P,” or in other words, a passport.

What are the 2 types of passports?

In the United States, there are four types of passports that can be issued, and they are regular passports, official passports, diplomatic passports and passport cards.

How many passport types are there?


The Indian government issues three types of passports to Indian citizens.

How to Check Passport is ECR or ECNR in Hindi | By Ishan

31 related questions found

What does Type P mean on a passport UK?

"I can inform you that within British passports, the capital letter 'P' is designated to denote that the document type is a 'Machine Readable Passport'."

What does Series C mean on passport?

Series C introduces a polycarbonate laser-engraved bio-data page with an embedded RFID chip. Also embedded in the data page is a decoding lens which optically unscrambles information hidden on the official observations page and inner front cover.

Who gets white passport?

White passports are issued to individuals representing the Indian government in official business. The application process for an official passport is different from that of the regular blue passport. While passport holders also get some special powers in addition to the regular rules and regulations.

What is blue passport?

The blue passport book, alternately referred to as the Regular or Tourist passport, is the most commonly issued U.S. passport. Diplomatic - Black diplomatic passports are issued to Foreign Service Officers and other persons with diplomatic or comparable status.

What is a red passport?

Those who travel with this type of passport are members of Congress, members of the military, family members of military personnel, and any other private citizen who might be conducting international travel at the request of the government. A red passport is only issued to people who are at least 18 years of age.

How do I know my passport type?

Step 1: Open your Passport and find the stamp. Step 2: Stamp will look like the below image. Step 3: In this, it's clearly written Emigration Check Required. Step 4: If you found this stamp in your passport it means you are in ECR categories.

What is an A series passport?

A series means the passport is 32 pages. B series means the passport is 48 pages and C series means the passport is 60 pages.

Which passport is the strongest in the world?

Japan has the world's most powerful passport - providing hassle-free entry to 193 countries. Just one country short, Singapore and South Korea are tied in second place, according to the latest Henley Passport Index from Henley & Partners, an immigration consultancy.

Which country has red passport?

Although a member of the EU, the Swiss use a bright red passport that matches their national flag and symbolized the culture. China issues a red diplomatic passport to the government official traveling abroad. In this case, it is believed that red represents the communist government.

Why the queen has no passport?

She doesn't have a passport

As a British passport is issued in the name of Her Majesty, it is unnecessary for The Queen to possess one,” reads the royal family's website, adding that all other members of the royal family, including The Prince of Wales and the Duke of Cambridge, do have passports.

Has anyone got a blue UK passport yet?

British Passport Colour

In addition to new rules governing European travel, the old, burgundy-colored British passport has now been replaced by a new, British blue passport. Anyone who has applied for a new UK passport since the middle of 2020, will now have the newer passport design.

What does PC mean on passport?

The "PC" acronym which is found in the top left corner of the passport, besides the photo, is used to identify a regular passport, which is also called a personal passport or an ordinary passport ("passeport courant" in French).

Which country has the worst passport?

An Afghan passport has once again been labelled by the index as the least powerful passport in the world, with its nationals only able to visit 26 destinations visa-free.

What are the top 5 strongest passports?

The best passports to hold in July 2022 are:
  • Japan (193 destinations)
  • Singapore, South Korea (192 destinations)
  • Germany, Spain (190 destinations)
  • Finland, Italy, Luxembourg (189 destinations)
  • Austria, Denmark, Netherlands, Sweden (188 destinations)
  • France, Ireland, Portugal, United Kingdom (187 destinations)

Which citizenship is best?

French nationality remained the best in the world according to the 2018 edition of the Quality of Nationality Index, earning a score of 83.5% out of a possible 100%, fractionally ahead of Germany and the Netherlands.

What is ordinary B passport?

3. Ordinary Light Blue Cover Passport. The ordinary light blue cover passport is issued to Kenyan citizens to travel to other countries. This passport takes approximately ten years for it to expire.

Do passports expire?

If you were age 16 or older when your passport was issued, your passport is valid for 10 years. If you were under 16 when your passport was issued, your passport is valid for 5 years. The Issue Date of your passport can be found on the data page of your passport book or on the front of your passport card.

What type of passport do I need for international travel?

U.S. passport. U.S. passport card. DHS "Trusted Traveler" cards (Global Entry®, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)

Who falls ECR category?

ECR is a category of Indian passports. If you have not passed 10th grade/class, or cannot produce your Matriculation or higher education pass certificate, then your passport will fall under the ECR Category.